SpicyCode

The ramblings of Chad Humphries

Make it fast please

I love OSX. It’s my favorite OS this side of BeOS. However I still get frustrated some times when things move more slowly that I would like. That’s why I was very happy to find this tip at macosxhints

From MacOSX Hints

If you are willing to sacrifice the visual feedback, disabling animation can provide a snappier experience. To disable animation in the Finder, open your favorite Terminal Software and enter this command:

defaults write com.apple.finder DisableAllAnimations -bool true

killall Finder

I definitely don’t have a slower system, but I still like being able to disable the zooming windows here and there. When I want a folder open, just open the folder please.

If you decided it wasn’t for you, just reissue the command and restart finder again.

defaults write com.apple.finder DisableAllAnimations -bool false

killall Finder
Written by spicycode

May 27, 2007 at 6:08 pm

Posted in osx

Tagged with

